Skip navigation

Apparently, jetlag still hangin on the second day of my visit in the Netherlands, it was on the day I had my meeting. It was short one hour meeting, but the results turn up positive. After the meeting, I have an appointment with long lost friend. We haven’t seen each other for almost 7 years now. I met her during my college years in Bandung, we are very close, along with other friend, bunch of group who always stays up late, having fun and go mad, day in and day out. It was a blast.

So I take a train from Dordrecht to Schipol, where she promised to meet me and pick me up there, before meeting her husband and we drive to Amsterdam. Amsterdam is such a vibrant city, night life and everything. Famously known for it’s Redlight District (of course I have look around there!). I bought souvenirs for my close friends, parents and my two sisters there. We had dinner in a small Thai Restaurant, which one of the waiter there is Indonesian, it was a very good meal. We walk around the square, the museums, and all till 10.30 pm. Well the night is getting late, as for me, I have to catch train to Dordrecht from Schipol, I then take the 1113 om train from Schipol to Dordrecht, and arrived in Dordrecht quarter past midnight.

The Dam Square

The Dam Square

On one of the canals of Amsterdam

On one of the canals of Amsterdam

a little castle in Amsterdam

a little castle in Amsterdam

A shop at the red light district

A shop at the red light district

I was supposed to have another meeting the next day, but it was cancelled. So I rush in, pack all my things as for tomorrow, my friend will take me to Nord Holland and I am on my way back to Singapore and continuing to Jakarta.

I woke up at 8 in the morning, and at 9.30 I was ready for check out from the hotel, and take another train trip to Schipol. I arrived at Schipol at 11.20 am, my flight is on 09.10 pm, so I still have a lot of time for another sightseeing of Holland. It was freezing -3 deg.C, my friend picked me up in Schipol again, then we are heading to Friesland, yes, the city where the milk come from. Well, it’s not a city, but province, it was a great trip, all we can see was a vast green grass, with either herds of cow or sheep flocking on the grass. The land is absolutely flat, so all the way to the horizon, it’s about grass, cow and sheeps.

Misty windmill

Misty windmill

After about two hours, we are now heading to Enkhuisen, an old city, the harbour for traditional boats, yachts, I see a lot of this port city, old buildings as old as 4 centuries. In this port, the VOC unloading all the resources gathered from the East Indies (Now Indonesia) before being traded in Amsterdam, and with the resource from Indonesian soil they gathered for 350 years, they built their cities and economy.

boats at Enkhuisen marina

boats at Enkhuisen marina

Old entrance to the City

Old tower at Enkhuisen

Old Church Tower @ Enkhuisen

Old Church Tower @ Enkhuisen

From Enkhuisen, we are heading to Hoorn now, another old city, where Jan Pieterz Coen was born, Coen was the General Governor of VOC on 17th century. He was a famous character not only in Hoorn where he was born and they have the statue to remember him, he also a famous person in our history book. He was remembered for all the oppresion and killing of rebellious inlander in Indonesia.

Me and JP Coen

Me and JP Coen

Marina @ Hoorn

Marina @ Hoorn

by the frozen North Sea

by the frozen North Sea

From Hoorn, my friend take me to her house and cook me dinner, dutch style dinner. It was always nice to try something new, and I love it very much. After dinner, unfortunately I don’t have much time to stay and have a chit chat, my flight is already waiting for me, and then she takes me to Schipol, where I take another long haul flight to Singapore. About 12 hours later, I arrived at Changi, local time was 16.30, and get out of the airport, unpacking things that I do not need, antake a shower and then ready for my next flight to Jakarta.

And here I am now, after one long haul flight to another, jetlagged back and forth. Writing my first experience in Netherlands, and I sure hope to be back there again!!

2 Comments

  1. uuh, i really want to go there..

  2. Asyik banget, bro…


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By on updates « my working week, my sunday rest on 06 May 2009 at 10:58 pm

    […] Netherlands to be exact. I went to Dordrecht, Amsterdam, Enkhuizen and Hoorn, the details are here, here, and here. From Netherlands I flew to Singapore and then Jakarta. Me and family went to Bandung, […]

Leave a Reply

